Americana UK Premieres “Low Flyin’ Planes” Video

In anticipation of the release of the upcoming EP Little Tiger: Outtakes from Low Flyin’ Planes, Americana UK premiered the video of the song “Low Flyin’ Planes”. Check it out here:

“Klein’s gentle strum and clean, melodic vocals bring to mind classic folk singer-songwriters like Townes Van Zandt. Stuart Cole’s subtle upright bass adds texture and depth, while the violin by Parisa Sarfehjoo transports the listener away, just as the camera rises and pans over the wide-open landscape…. Excellent stuff.”- Andrew Frolish, Americana UK

As always, much gratitude to close friend/musical partner/engineer/producer Bronson Tew of Dial Back Sound for bringing the song to life, filmmaker Jeff Shipman, and musicians Stuart Cole (upright bass) and Parisa Sarfehjoo (violin) for lending their talents.

Click here for more info on the video.

Fall Update

Thanks for stopping by. Been fairly quiet here on the site and social media lately. What a year it’s been. Hoping you and yours are doing well. We have a chance this season to stand up for democracy and the promise of a better, more just, more equal America in the voting booth (or mail-in ballot). I’m certainly trying to be engaged amidst the busyness of life, creatively productive, and not entirely consumed by the rabbit hole of the madness of the moment.

Over these many months I’ve been working, spending time with the fam, enjoying watching my little one grow, and keeping my head down as I do what I can in music, writing, and acting efforts. I wrote and recorded an album inspired by the events of this summer with Bret Hartley (electric guitar) and Colin Agnew (drums) of The Wild Fires, and Will Robertson (bass) at Will’s Gallop Studios in Atlanta. The songs still need to be mixed and mastered, and some additional instrumentation will be added, but look for the 2020-centric collection in 2021 if all goes as planned. I have a feeling the themes will remain relevant whenever it sees the light of day.

But coming first… is an EP of outtakes from Low Flyin’ Planes featuring the songs “Halfway to Heaven”, “Little Tiger”, and “Take it (on Faith)”, all recorded, mixed, and mastered by Bronson Tew. Personnel on the tracks include Bronson (drums, bass, guitars, harmony vocals), Jay Gonzalez of Drive-By Truckers (keys), Matt Patton of DBT (bass), Crash Cason (electric guitar), and Eric Carlton (piano). Stay tuned for details over the next few months!

“Lead Guitar” on Ditty TV

Ditty TV will be debuting the “Lead Guitar” video, shot by my good friend Jeff Shipman, on its show The Curve this Wednesday, May 20 at 10pm CST/11pm EST, alongside videos from heroes Drivin n Cryin, Chris Knight, and others. Catch producer Bronson Tew, Crash Cason (electric guitar), Eric Carlton (keys), Will McCarley (drums) and Matt Patton of Drive-By Truckers (bass) layin’ it down. Here’s a teaser. Tune in and enjoy!

COVID-19 Fundraiser w/ Leesta Vall Sound Recordings

Happy to announce I’m partnering once again with Leesta Vall Sound Recordings to create one-of-a-kind vinyl records and support efforts to combat COVID-19. I’ll be making solo acoustic home recordings of a number of unreleased (and many unheard) songs from quarantine. Your vinyl copy will be THE ONLY VERSION of that song in existence in any physical form! Learn more and PRE-ORDER HERE.

All of my share of the proceeds will go to American Jewish World Service‘s work in the global south to mitigate the spread of the virus in some of the most vulnerable populations in the world. We need folks on the front lines right here at home, and we also need critical support for people living in dire poverty, including refugee camps, in the most underdeveloped, under-resourced areas in the world. Read about AJWS’ work on coronavirus here.

Video Premiere!

Eddie’s Attic premiered the video tonight for “Lead Guitar” from Low Flyin’ Planes, released one year ago this month!

Big thanks to filmmaker Jeff Shipman, producer/engineer and musical partner Bronson Tew, and all the players on the tune – Crash Cason (electric guitar), Will McCarley (drums), Matt Patton of Drive-By Truckers (bass), Eric Carlton (keys), Bronson (electric guitar), and Anne Freeman (harmony vocals).